Every document has two main components; the document content that you create and the libraries that define the objects and functionality available in the document. Documents will nearly always have a reference to least one library. Without any libraries loaded there would be virtually no functionality available in the document.

The content of a document is contained in modules. There are four types of modules, Document Modules, Blackboard Modules, Object Modules and Unit Test Modules.

All of these modules are managed using the Document Explorer.

Documents can also contain Object Modules and Unit Test Modules, either in libraries or contained directly in the document. Object Modules contain definitions of objects. They can define the type of objects, the rendering of the object and how the object behaves.

Unit Test Modules contain tests that are used the verify that everything is working correctly.

Many documents don't contain Object Modules and Unit Test Modules. These modules are more commonly placed in separate libraries that are referenced by a document.

Only one document can be open in the Sym application. To work in two or more documents simultaneously, start a new instance of the application and open the second document in the new instance.

Documents have the .EQU file extension, while libraries have the .EQL file extension.

If any of the references in a document point to an online library, the required library will be downloaded automatically and a new location will be created if the location of the referenced library doesn't already exist.